Do you use a redundant playback setup?

I’m curious here, among AbleSet users, how common is it to actually run a redundant playback setup? I’m a software engineer by day, so tech doesn’t intimidate me in the live music arena. we’ve considered implementing this, but not sure it’s actually worth the trouble at this particular time.

my situation is somewhat unique in that I use AbleSet to run our show with Live, but I have the laptop connected to our X32 Rack via USB and Live uses the X32 as one big audio interface. the decision was made long ago that if the tech goes down, the show stops… so I took it a step farther and incorporated my live guitar signal processing to happen within Live in real time. I now run a wireless into the X32, route to a track in Live that has an amp sim and other plugins set up, and finally returned to the X32. I love everything about the setup - the simplicity, the sound and the fact that I have everything automated within Live - so I don’t tap dance on a pedalboard, all of my changes are programmed in via automation in Live. it’s a dream come true for me.

however, looking forward at a redundant setup, I’d have to find another way as devices like iConnectivity only support audio out. I thought about running a redundant setup and then potentially splitting my guitar input signal into both laptops via an iRig on each or something, as they would then both be getting my live guitar input. but then I thought… over the 3+ years I’ve been doing this, the laptop has only given us an issue a few times, and they were definitely exceptional circumstances. the overwhelming majority of the time, it’s rock solid.

what about other users here? are you running a redundant setup? what made you make the jump? has it ever ‘failed over’ during a show and saved you?